Popular Post

Monday, April 16, 2007

Who's the best...Ronaldo or Drogba?

Premiership leaders Manchester United dominate the nominations for the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year (PFA) award, with man of the moment Cristiano Ronaldo, Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes all making the six-man shortlist. Chelsea striker Didier Drogba, Arsenal midfielder Cesc Fabregas and Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard, the 2006 winner, complete the contenders. Meanwhile, Wayne Rooney, Ronaldo and Fabregas are also up for the young player award with Tottenham's Aaron Lennon, Kevin Doyle of Reading and Manchester City's Micah Richards join them on the list.
Ronaldo has been brilliant this season for the United side which is still hunting for their unprecedented double Treble Ronaldo, 22, is currently being acclaimed as the world's best player in some quarters and the winger has 21 goals for Premiership leaders Manchester United. Meanwhile Drogba has been consistent for Chelsea throughout the season. The Blues had already won the league cup and are still on contention for another three trophies to complete an remarkable quadraple.
"Didier has, arguably, been Chelsea's best and most consistent performer this season - no mean achievement when he is playing alongside so many top-class players at Stamford Bridge," said PFA chief executive Gordon Taylor. "Cristiano is the most exciting player in the country at the moment - the quickness of his feet and the skills he possesses make you think, at times, that he is from another planet," added Taylor.

No comments:

Post a Comment